?

Log in

  Journal   Friends   Calendar   User Info   Memories
 

Culture Review's Journal

22nd February, 2008. 11:34 am. Be Kind Rewind - MosBlack Surprised Me!(laraemeadows)



Be Kind Rewind is a sweet, funny, cockle-warming movie sure to make you smile long after you’ve left the theater.

Make Notes

13th October, 2007. 3:34 pm. Michael Clayton: Boom Run Corporate Guns(laraemeadows)


Michael Clayton is the fast paced legal, corporate greed and assassination thriller that starts and ends with a bang.  Michael Clayton sizzles with skin crawling gluttony, blood moving action and overflows with tragic characters. Michael Clayton Boom Boom ReviewCollapse )

Make Notes

10th October, 2007. 10:55 pm. The Rocket - A sports movie with a great plot and wonderful acting? Who knew?(laraemeadows)


The Rocket or Maurice Richard, the biographical story of hockey legend Maurice Richard, is the best sports biography I have ever seen.  It is also the best movie that uses sports to highlight historical bigotry I have ever seen.  It is the best sports movie I have ever seen.

A poor machinist in the slums of Quebec, trying to do his part for the War effort during World War Two, Maurice Richard decides to try out for the Canadiens hockey team.  His amazing talent wasn't enough, though; there were concerns that he was just too frail for hockey.  After an extended time of not playing hockey, the Canadiens put him on the ice where he becomes the legend every hockey player studies.  He struggles with the uncertainty of his job and supporting his wife and children.  During his rise to fame, it is brought to his attention that the French speaking hockey players and citizens are being treated as second class citizens.  Using his fame, and with some trepidation, he decides if he is going to be part of the movement for equality or another quiet French-Canadian who accepts the status quo.

The Rocket is not an uplifting, heartwarming, blood pumping movie shallow in plot, like most sports movies; it is a slower-moving, complex and dramatic biography supplemented by exciting hip checks, high sticking and the occasional fight.  The pacing is like a train going over a mountain, patience is required to go up but your patience is rewarded when you have an exciting trip down the mountain.  There is more plot than hockey and a person who doesn't care about hockey will still enjoy the dramatic feelings and settings cultivated in The Rocket.

The Rocket is as much about the time that Maurice Richard lived in, as it is about him personally.  For those of us not familiar with general World War Two Canadian History, this film gives the audience a brief insight into internal strife during that time in the peaceful giant to the north.  Using such an icon to display the times is a tired way to tell history but in The Rocket, it seems more natural.  Richard is not glorified as beyond human or hero worshiped.  He struggles with the people of his country, the same way they do.


The acting in The Rocket is hard hitting (pun intended), and will hip check (I'm not ashamed to make hockey puns) your emotions when you aren't expecting it.   Roy Dupuis, who plays hockey megastar Maurice Richard, is a quiet storm, rolling over the hills of emotion.   Julie LeBrenton, who plays Lucille Richard, Maurice's wife, performance is like a hurricane blowing in without mercy or regard.  Her performance is a powerful triumph.  No, in case you were wondering, they don't let the professional hockey players act much, thank you director Charles Binamé for making a thoughtful decision.

The Rocket is beautiful.  It's dark and grainy feeling leaves you feeling a little dirty in an industrial way, but intrigued and curious.

In our house, we wouldn't dream of wasting our entertainment money or time on baseball or basketball.  We probably could be bothered to see football on someone else's dime, if there wasn't paint to watch dry.  What we will do is climb a stack of chairs to change the channel at a sports bar during baseball playoffs to watch hockey because we are a hockey family, through and through.  If you've never been to the Shark Tank in San Jose, you just haven't lived.  So believe me when I say the hockey in The Rocket is exceptionally fun to watch and technically correct.  It makes sense because all of the hockey scenes are played with National Hockey League players.  That's right, they don't pretend to play hockey, they actually play professional hockey!  If you are a hockey fan you'll see faces you recognize, like Mike Ricci of the San Jose Sharks.   Even if you aren't a hockey fan, you'll enjoy the hitting and bleeding. 

If you love great hockey, see The Rocket.  If you love great writing, see The Rocket.  If you love phenomenal acting, see The Rocket.  If you aren't a complete idiot, see The Rocket.  Just see The Rocket or I'll see you in the boards!

Make Notes

23rd September, 2007. 3:00 pm. Anti-Christ: A Satirical End of Days (Review)(antichrist_book)

Title: Anti-Christ: A Satirical End of Days
Author: Matthew Moses

Genre: Satire
Pages: 396

As told in Anti Christ: A Satirical End of Days  the world is in chaos – proving reality infuses fiction.
Russia is eliminating democracy, returning to an authoritarian government. The US is fighting government corruption charges as a possible war between Pakistan and India formulates. Now China wants to rule Taiwan…the global issues never end.

On a civilian scale, Matthew Ford is an average college guy, suffering the usual issues. After waiting three hours, his internet date is a no show, the bookstore refuses to refund a book he just bought, and then his car gets a flat tire as it begins to snow. Arriving home, Matt’s horrendous day ends peacefully once he throws out the ghost, haunting him for the last time. Okay, so this act is not usual however, it garners the attention of Heaven now commercialized and a power hungry Hell, both warring against the other to gain Earth peoples’ majority support. As for his awareness of the previously mentioned world issues, Matt was busy watching professional wrestling; his priorities are quite clear.

Mr. Moses composes an engaging, humorous parody, drawing from timeless world events and American life. The U.S. President Lucas is a ditz, believing that
Kashmir – in India - is a sweater company, and cannot understand why Pakistan wants that particular cloth. It’s not material they want, it’s all about the land. Russia’s President Romanov wants to return his country into greatness. He dissolves the Duma, their legislative body, assuming sole leadership. After President Lucas’ lengthy warning that the U.S. will defend democracy, Romanov, a taciturn man, replies with a barbed curse, “F--- America”. Now that is honest communication.

The true witticism shines as Matt begins an enlightened journey first to Heaven, followed by Hell, then to the mystic Buddhist temples, and then back again to Heaven. Instigating this trek are two cherubs who abduct Matt, claiming the “Boss” wants to meet. Once in
Zion (Heaven), the cherubs loose Matt, who wanders into a place called “Gabriel’s”. God’s Archangels now congregate in a local tavern since Heaven and Hell signed a peace treaty two thousand years ago, outlawing wars. They drown their sorrows in unending chalices of holy water or engage in wrestling smack downs in the tavern’s backroom; releasing pent up hostilities. The crowning moment is when Matt finally meets Jesus demanding that he take back the ghost he threw out; Heaven is overcrowded since Christ took over management.

The slapstick continues with attacks on big business, worker’s unions, fad diets, immigration, military assistance in foreign countries, reincarnation…not even the Pope is exempt from this fast paced, captivating farce. Still, when Satan entices Matt into becoming the world’s elite guru of wisdom, the amusing dialog turns gloomy. They attend congressional sessions discussing stem cell research and lecture overweight people simply to stop eating; naming only a few topics that some readers may not find amusing, in any form.

Yet, Anti Christ is a satire, “a literary composition, in verse or prose, in which human folly and vice are held up to scorn, derision, or ridicule” (definition from Dictionary.com)…hmmm, Mr. Moses has done his job well. His characters are well formed, genuine, aptly supporting this cabaret of imaginative intrigue. Even the typo, right at the beginning, “CwHyAPTER 1” only adds to this wacky novel. And yes, I roared with laughter throughout this distinctive book.

Pamela - Podpeep.blogspot.com

Make Notes

4th September, 2007. 2:20 pm. King of Kong Review and Director Interview(laraemeadows)



King of Kong-Fist Full of Quarters is the good vs. evil tale of the world champions of Donkey Kong: Billy Mitchell and Steve Wiebe. These characters couldn't have been made up better and if they were fictional, if this weren't a documentary, the film would be unbelievable.

In 1982, Life Magazine did a story on the world's best video gamers at the time. In that picture was Billy Mitchell, the champion of Centipede, Donkey Kong, and Donkey Kong Jr. It was the beginning of Billy's rise to fame. After a scandal rocked the video game world, Walter Day decided he would start Twin Galaxies, the official score keepers for video games. It also became headquarters for the Billy Mitchell Cult. The employees, even Day himself, worship Billy Mitchell with a frightening reverence. Their reverence for Billy makes them absolutely unable to verify a score when newbie Steve Wiebe shatters his record.

Rest of the Review

Seth Gordon, director of documentary film King of Kong: Fist Full of Quarters, a David vs Goliath documentary about two men competing for champion rights to the classic arcade game Donkey Kong, opened up about his new film, its process and his future.

"My favorite place is Fun Spot [arcade in King of Kong]. Family reunions were in New Hampshire. I burn in the sun, so my family would leave me at Fun Spot. It is a family place and they would give tokens for grades. I would think about it all year. I met Steve Wiebe [one of the main characters in the movie] four days after they had been in his garage. At first I thought he was too vanilla but after I met all the players, I wanted to do the project. It took a year and a half."





Rest of the Interview

Make Notes

13th April, 2007. 8:49 pm. ATHFCMFT - A dreadful movie could do so much for the world!(laraemeadows)

I'm not supposed to post this until Friday but I'll do it just for you! Shh. Keep it on the DL.



Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film for Theaters (ATHFCMFT) is a cinematic blessing that will surely lead to better film making in the future. Thank you writer and directors Matt Maiellaro and Dave Willis for creating a movie that opens the way for the next great novel.
Wanna know how this movie makes a better world? I'll tell you.Collapse )

Read 2 Notes -Make Notes

13th April, 2007. 8:30 pm. After The Wedding - A+ Movie(laraemeadows)



After the Wedding (Efter bylluppet) is the marvelously subtle story about the value of family, the decisions we make and the decisions people make for us. It beautifully spins a story of the lengths people will go for who they love and how four people find their worth.
Fantastic MovieCollapse )

Make Notes

6th April, 2007. 1:01 am. Quantum Consciousness and the Fifth Dimension(indiriverflow)





What will Winter Solstice bring in
2012?

...an instant of Karma? ...an ethereal spiral dance of the collective soul? ... cosmic judgment leveled against civilization's expanse? ...destruction of the world as we know it? ...a chance for a new start? ...the rise and the revenge of the Goddess? or simply another day in the life of paranoia?
These are the false prophesies that your pastor warned you about!


Reality Exchange Program

"Makes DMT seem like a whip-it."



Crazy Bear said there'd be days like this. As usual, no one believed him. Now, all I want to know is: where IS that lifeboat, and how DO I ditch this ship of fools, without any of these bliss ninnies noticing that I'm already gone?


Captain, my ass. We are equal in this sea of madness.


That iceberg is looking awfully big.



New Age Metaphysical Books

Amana Mission is on a quest to save the world, and the only problem is, she can't remember why she got involved with such an obvious scam in the first place. Jesus saves. Christ. What a loser.


Kali kills first, and recycles later.


Hitchhikers, load up for a ride to the Other Side. You may wish you had gone Greyhound.


"What the...?"

*A cranky band of prankster peace warriors who absolutely cannot resist messing with each other's minds, no matter the cost.

*Cocky alchemy-dabbling quantum surfers, navigating the Ethersphere with hand-held computers, switching timelines to find a better party vibe and swap tips about the best temporary toilets for use as interdimensional portals.

*A burnt-out visionary hippie millionaire on a mission from Gaia to build a better "communitopia" by underwriting a convoy carrying telepathic priestesses.

*A wheelchair-bound mindpilot propelling a crystal-powered Seed Bank toward the post-Apocalyptic Garden, with psychic precision...and a predilection for high-velocity extreme driving.

*Hermaphrodite time-jumper fleeing a fate worse than death.

*Anarchist ghettoes where anything goes-except escape.

*Ancient Principals vying like sweatsoaked carpetbaggers for our loyalty as the Final Vote is tallied.

*Long-haired security patrols collecting a cannabis tribute tax from all pilgrims to the Valley of Fun.

*And an underground meat mafia bringing a black magic revival to a bloodless dreamworld gone bland.


All brought together by a secret psychedelic superdrug that tunes users in to reality through the eyes of another archetypal avatar inhabiting a different state of space and time. Mahayana made easy. Budding Buddha natures are running amuck on a virtual superhighway where all roads lead to the Bo tree and singularity.

Twenty-first century Tantra is about more than sex, drugs, and
rock and roll.Confronting the Karma of every wasted breath is only the first step.

Welcome to the End Times. Kali awaits. She already knows who you are.

Do you?


The 21st century counterculture is even weirder than it appears on the surface. This is not your mommy’s MTV Road Rules. Satire Parody and Humor.


Ride along on this mesmerizing, metaphor-packed bus trip toward ecstasy and enlightenment, as three real-time guides-Amana, Sissy, and Deva, let you in on what they learned when they asked what It was really all about, after all.

Become them for a multilevel metafictional tour of infinity and awaken yourself to the miracle-a-minute magic of mighty Mother Kali!




Science Fiction Novel Blues 4 Kali






Current mood: contemplative.

Make Notes

27th March, 2007. 8:31 pm. What Love Is - Pretty Funny.(laraemeadows)


“What Love Is” tries to answer the question the title asks by cramming emotionally diverse men and women on a small set. A witty spin on romantic comedy, “What Love Is” was an enjoyable exception to the rule that romance and comedy don’t mix.

What is love anyways?Collapse )

Make Notes

27th March, 2007. 7:50 pm. TMNT - Heros on the half shell; TURTLE POWER!(laraemeadows)



Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Hero’s on the half shell...Turtle Power! Ok, now I have that out of my system. Written and directed by Kevin Monroe, “TMNT” is a revitalization of comics beloved in my childhood. “TMNT” lacks depth, feels like a Saturday morning cartoon but is visually interesting.

Heros on the half shell, turtle power!Collapse )

Make Notes

Back A Page